We Don’t Know How Or Why But David Luiz & Thiago Silva Make The 2014 FIFA/FIFPro Team Of The Year

We Don’t Know How Or Why But David Luiz & Thiago Silva Make The 2014 FIFA/FIFPro Team Of The Year


Cristiano Ronaldo winning his second consecutive Ballon d’Or this evening was no shock by any means. The Real Madrid star had been imperious during 2014 which was capped off with a FIFA World Club medal just before Christmas. However, the biggest surprise came in the FIFA/FIFPro Team Of The Year and it emanated from Paris as both David Luiz and Thiago Silva were named in the XI.

I very much doubt that many people could have predicted to see both their names alongside the likes of Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Arjen Robben but there they were. The domestic cup double which Thiago Silva captained PSG to is an achievement in itself but his form was not exactly what it was the season before. David Luiz had an indifferent time at Chelsea and a mixed FIFA World Cup which capitulated with that infamous 7-1 defeat at the hands of Germany in the last-four. To put it bluntly, their inclusions did not make sense.

The team is put together by votes casted by over 20,000 professional players. Many will have voted for their friends you feel rather than for players based on form. Not all of course but in some instances you can definitely argue the point and the inclusion of the two Brazilians echoes that.

Nevertheless, it is an achievement for the club to enjoy. We certainly was not expecting it but having two players who play their trade at the Parc des Princes on that illustrious list is gratifying – even if there were much more deserving candidates.

Club legend Pauleta was on hand to collect the award for the players on their behalf as they prepare for Saint-Etienne tomorrow.

The Team:

Manuel Neuer (Germany – Bayern Munich)

Sergio Ramos (Spain – Real Madrid)

Thiago Silva (Brazil – Paris Saint-Germain)

David Luiz (Brazil – Chelsea/Paris Saint-Germain)

Philipp Lahm (Germany – Bayern Munich)

Andrés Iniesta (Spain – Barcelona)

Toni Kroos (Germany – Bayern Munich/Real Madrid)

Angel Di Maria (Argentina – Real Madrid/Manchester United)

Arjen Robben (Netherlands – Bayern Munich)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal – Real Madrid)

Lionel Messi (Argentina – Barcelona)

Leave a Reply